Soul Nation (Under One Vibration)

by The Rhythm Express (Michael Dunston & Maiko Watson)

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $1 CAD  or more



After 14 months of covering the best and most unique ska, reggae - classics and lesser known soul songs, the Rhythm Express introduce their first original side built from the bottom up – Soul Nation.
Funk and soul music originated in the clubs – the places where people hibernate away from the maddening crowd and express themselves through good times and dance. Its party time, it’s socializing - it’s all about the beat – popping horns, pumping bass, - the long vamp and long night out.

Soul Nation began a month back as a rhythm jam – keyboards, bass, guitar and drums – all with James Brown, Sly & the Family Stone, and Parliament Funkadelics in mind.

After the rhythm parts were recorded - then overdub time. Everton Paul – congas and tambourine. Shane “Shakey J” Forrest – multiple rhythm guitar parts. Bill King – clavinet layered over piano – Jesse ‘Dubmatix’ King solo bass lines imposed over the basic bass patterns.

Second bit of order – scripting horn lines that reflect back on the rhythm bands that sat on the groove for long minutes at a time – keeping the parts honest and fresh. Bobby Hsu doubled up on alto and tenor saxophone and Alexander Brown trumpet – horn lines written by Bill King.
Next up, the group sing – the words – Soul Nation – Under One Vibration. Ammoye Evans, drummer Everton ‘Pablo’ Paul, Maiko Watson and Bill King filled in the hook lines. The final ingredients – the hard core soul vocals of Michael Dunston and Maiko Watson - lyrics with a story.

Soul Nation sends a message – not one tied to politics or disparity but one of reverence for all the great funk and soul pioneers who came before. Michael and Maiko words single out today’s action heroes; Bruno Mars and Kendrick Lamar, and weave the past with the present: George Clinton, Stevie Wonder, Earth Wind & Fire, the Supremes, Sly & the Family Stone- James Brown, Marvin Gaye – Tammi Terrell and beyond.
The final results is a spirited homage to all that came before from players who where there in the day and young musicians with a foot in the past and big prints in the present/future.


released March 3, 2016
Executive Producer/drums/percussion: Everton ‘Pablo’ Paul
Producer/arranger/keyboards – Bill King
Engineer/guitar – Shane ‘Shaky J’ Forrest
Graphic Design/bass – Jesse ‘Dubmatix’ King
Vocals: Lead vocals Michael Dunston, Maiko Watson. BG’s - Ammoye Evans, Everton Paul, Bill King, Maiko Watson.
Horns: Bobby Hsu – alto and tenor sax. Alexander Brown – trumpet.

Songwriters: Bill King, Everton Paul, Jesse King, Shane Forrest, Michael Dunston and Maiko Watson.
Pub: Night Passage Music
7Arts/ Side Door Records



all rights reserved


The Rhythm Express Toronto, Ontario

contact / help

Contact The Rhythm Express

Streaming and
Download help