Welcome to Funkastan

by The Rhythm Express

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $1 CAD  or more



Time has arrived to “give the drummer some.” Anchoring the Rhythm Express rhythm section is one of the best – Reggae Hall of Fame honoree and spiritual soul behind Side Door Records and recording studio, “big beats’ Everton “Pablo” Paul.

“Welcome to Funkastan” pays homage to James Brown’s rhythm ace Clyde Stubblefield – the real Mr. “Cold Sweat,” and Paul who grew up on a steady diet of Kingston, Jamaica funk, soul and reggae and James Brown before bringing his mighty groove north to Toronto in the mid-sixties.

Paul’s deep pocket groove was behind the Cougars, ace guitar man and singer Wayne McGhie and world class organist/composer Jackie Mittoo, all part of the evolving night scene as Toronto moved from a sleepy avenue to a bustling, diverse world cultural centre.

The 6, (the six different boroughs through amalgamation making up greater Toronto) as aptly redefined by singer Drake is a dense repository of untapped talent quietly beating a path across the planet. Five top ten international pop artists last season and a crackling music scene spinning a hundred directions at once.

The Express rhythm section meets every Wednesday evening. Only something of utter importance has dimmed the lights the past sixteen months. In that time – sixteen singles – an album Soul Explosion ’69 – a great cast of artists; Selena Evangeline, Gavin Hope, Michael Dunston, Ammoye, Maiko Watson, Jonathon Knight have vocalized – the horns, only the best – Bobby Hsu, Christopher Butcher, Alexander Brown, Rebecca Hennessy, Alexis Baro, William Spernadei, Michael Arthurs – percussionist Magdelys Savigne.

Season two – the band is writing and focused on originals bottom to top, schooled in ‘60s/’70s funk– retro soul, reggae and ska.

“Welcome to Funkastan” is all about that dancing piccolo snare drum – charged up horn section and high octane house rhythm section. You are welcome to camp in our territory!


released April 26, 2016
Executive producer/drums/percussion: Everton “Pablo” Paul
Producer/horn arrangements/keyboards: Bill King
Engineer/guitar: Shane “Shaky J” Forrest
Bass/Graphic Arts: Jesse “Dubmatix” King
Trombone: Christopher Butcher
Trumpet: Alexander Brown
Tenor Saxophone: Michael Arthurs
Recorded: Side Door Records
Composers: Bill King (Night Passage Music), Jesse “Dubmatix” King, Shane “Shakey J”Forrest, Everton “Pablo” Paul.



all rights reserved


The Rhythm Express Toronto, Ontario

contact / help

Contact The Rhythm Express

Streaming and
Download help